List

6 Awesome Songs to Sing to A Girl


Yes, I am a music girl much like Peyton Sawyer of One Tree Hill in the sense that I love “that feeling that you get when other human beings pick up basic instruments and make sense of your world”. Well, you probably already know that I’m not your stereotypical sophisticated girly girl. Nonetheless, there’s still this part of me that craves for some cheese at times. My solution? Good music.

For the boys,  I know that sometimes it’s hard to look for songs to serenade your girlfriends with, to use for your AVP surprise gift for the girl, or to post on her Facebook wall for you to look sweet. For the girls, I know that giddy feeling that we get imagining that the songs we listen to are written and sung for us. Thus, I came up with this short list of what I think are 6 awesome relatively recent songs to sing to a girl. Forgive me if the genre is sorta the same for all of the songs in the list. I’m just in an acoustic mood and I think it’s easier to serenade someone with an acoustic guitar instead of a full sound system setup.

Note: Guys, if you have to practice on someone before you go make actual harana, you are free to drop by my home or my office cubicle. Haha! ;)

**

6) Come on Get Higher – Matt Nathanson

Lyrics to die for: I miss the sound of your voice / The loudest thing in my head / And I ache to remember / All the violent, sweet, perfect words that you said

Well, this might outright be an intimate song but I do not understand the feeling that I get when I hear this. There’s just so much more to the song than pointing out physical intimacy. For me, beyond that, it also speaks of the rollercoaster kind of happiness that you feel when you’re with the ones you love. But, I still suggest that you do not sing this to a random girl who’s not really that comfortable with you yet as you may sound like a maniac.

5) Introducing Me – Nick Jonas

Lyrics to die for: And I, I really like you when the moon looks like a toenail / And I love you when you say my name ; I like the sound of violins / And making someone smile

Before you raise your eyebrows, give the song a listen before screaming “FUUUU JOBROS!” or something like that. This is actually a very cute song that doesn’t “try too hard”. The lyrics are simple and not pa-impress at all. I suggest using this song if, like in the movie, the girl wants to get to know you more. I made my own spin to this song by changing some parts to stuff that I like (e.g. “I’ve never really been into cars” to “I’ve always really been into cars” ’cause I really like cars) and you can do that as well so that your girlfriend-to-be gets to know YOU and not Nick Jonas.

4) Themesong – Ang Bandang Shirley

Lyrics to die for: Maari ba kitang makasayaw / O di kaya kahit / Upo lang muna tayo habang/ Inaantay yung ating magiging theme song

I just had to inject some OPM flavor to the list and of course, if I would do that, I would suggest one of the best bands ever. This song is perfect for the cheesy/romantic initial stage of your relationship ’cause yeah, this is about finding your “theme song”. As they say, there are just some things that can’t be expressed in any other language except for our own. And yes, please go give the band a try. Listen to all of their songs ’cause they are all good.

3) Look After You – The Fray

Lyrics to die for: There now, steady love, so few come and don’t go / Will you won’t you, be the one I’ll always know / When I’m losing my control, the city spins around / You’re the only one who knows, you slow it down / Oh, oh / Be my baby / Ohhhhhh / Oh, oh / Be my Baby / I’ll look after you / And I’ll look after you

This is the most awesome will-you-be-mine song that I’ve ever heard. Singing this to someone would make her realize that you really do want to take care of her and not just use her as a trophy girlfriend of some sort. So, yes, go. Sing this to that girl you love. What are you still doing reading this blog post?

2) Just The Way You Are – Bruno Mars

Lyrics to die for: When I see your face / There’s not a thing that I would change / Cause you’re amazing / Just the way you are / And when you smile / The whole world stops and stares for awhile / Cause girl you’re amazing / Just the way you are

I don’t know if there’s a girl who wouldn’t be all kilig and giddy if someone sincerely dedicates this song to her. If you just take the lyrics of this song and say this to someone, it may come of as bola. The music that the song comes with conceals this bola factor, however, and makes it sound so honest and not too cheesy for the tough guys to stomach.

1) 1234 / Best I Ever Had – AJ Rafael and Jenny Suk (original by Plain White T’s and Drake)

Lyrics to die for: There’s only one thing / To Do / Three words / For you / I love you ; Baby, you’re the best / Baby, you’re the best / Baby, you’re the best / Baby, you’re the best / The best I ever had

I just heard this mash-up recently and the first thing that I like about it is that it doesn’t sound like a mash-up! It sounds like a new song altogether! :) Well, this song may be too cheesy for some but trust me, it’s a girl-killer. Singing this song to someone is like telling him/her that you appreciate EVERY LITTLE THING that he/she has done for you and that he/she is even better than ‘good enough’ and that you won’t look for anyone else. Yes, that’s something that we girls would want to hear every once in a while.

**

Please do not laugh at my attempt to be all keso.

7 thoughts on “6 Awesome Songs to Sing to A Girl

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is
    rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

  2. Pingback: Looking For A Girl That’s Dtf

  3. hello,
    nice songs, can u suggest me some more beautiful songs. i like slow songs and with touch lyrics. have left my mail id ,u cn send me over der :-)

  4. Pingback: What To Say To Get Women Into Bed

Leave a Comment!

