The Froyo Comparison


Thanks to my lovely friends who tolerate my fro-yo addiction, I’ve already been able to take a taste of 5 kinds of frozen yogurt! As it has been a running goal for Rodz and I to find out which establishment serves the best frozen yogurt, I have decided to compare the froyos I have tasted, also for the sake of everyone out there who are yet to be obsessed with the most amazing thing on Earth. Yes, I encourage everyone to enjoy having froyo with friends once in a while. It’s healthy and guilt-free, and oddly, there’s a certain type of froyo for everyone.

Now on to the battle:

1) Froyoforyo

Photo from Froyoforyo Facebook page

Located at 335-K AGCOR Bldg., Katipunan Ave., QC.

We were very excited to taste Froyoforyo a day after their opening as we were glad that there’s finally a froyo place in Katipunan! Despite the long long walk (well, not really) from Faura, we battled heat and pollution to satisfy our tastebuds! We had a hard time looking for the place, though, as it is not in a very prominent location. It is, instead, located inside this building. Yes, you have to go through an “alley” to get there. I was the one opening the door to the shop and I was surprised when it sounded all squeaky and noisy. Get this. It’s located beside a dental clinic. If you’re an odd being like me, this is actually good news since the smell of a dental clinic is among my favorites. The people of Froyoforyo are nice and friendly (and Ateneans). They were specifically patient when it took us a loooong time to pick what we’d want to order.

Froyoforyo has pretty decent toppings and interesting froyo flavors. Among the toppings that they have are fruits (mango, banana, lychee, etcetera) and sweets but probably the most special one is the Chocnut topping! :) The froyo flavors that they have are mango, coffee, strawberry, blueberry and vanilla. What we didn’t like, however, was that it wasn’t soft serve. The froyo tasted too icy rather than yogurt-y. And because of this and our personal preference for smooth froyo, the cost of Php40 per scoop and Php15 for 1 topping, Php25 for 2 toppings and Php30 for 3 toppings wasn’t as worth it.

Location: 1 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Froyo Taste: 1 out of 5 stars

Toppings: 3 out of 5 stars

Price: 2 out of 5 stars

2) Frutti Froyo

photo from Frutti Froyo Facebook page

Located at Petron Square, Katipunan Ave. corner Mangyan Rd. La Vista, QC (2nd floor, on top of Chowking)

I have always wanted to try self-serve soft-serve froyo, thus, you cannot imagine the joy I felt upon finding out that there’s a new froyo place in Katipunan. I tried this out with some of my blockmates after the epic-lie “Pabaon”. We walked all the way from XBX Interactive. It’s located in a pretty good place since most Ateneans drop by Petron and it’s accessible as you can ride a trike to the area. (It was just our preference that we walk since we had epic lunch before playing Rockband.) The place is sooooo nice! I fell in love with the playful and inviting colors! The general look is very clean and decent yet very homey as well! :) The place’s layout is very organized for a self-serve froyo place too! The people were also pretty nice especially when we asked for trial cups!

Frutti Froyo has a fantabulous selection of froyo flavors and toppings! From what I can remember, they have kiwi, cantaloupe, mango, strawberry, blueberry, chocolate and original froyo. We didn’t like the chocolate froyo that much as it tasted too much like the Milo soft-serve ice cream thing in malls. I personally fell in love with the kiwi froyo as it had the right amount of sourness to make it taste more yogurt-y! I also loved the mango froyo for its exotic taste! :D The toppings are loooooooooooove. There’s really a HUGE variety you can pick from varying from nuts to cereals to sweets, to fruits and syrups! The only catch is that since it’s self-serve, you have to pay Php18 per ounce for your froyo. That may sound good in theory but try being there and having all these choices around you and I’m sure you’ll be frowning. Haha! Since their froyo is pretty “heavy” in weight, my order was composed only of about a small serving of Red Mango froyo and a decent bunch of mangoes, nata de coco and walnuts but it stole Php160++ from my money stash. Two friends of mine had to pay Php230++ for their servings! Don’t worry though. You just have to practice self-control and utilize the weighing scales abundant in the shop.

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Froyo Taste: 3 out of 5 stars

Toppings: 5 out of 5 stars

Price: 3 out of 5 stars

3) Red Mango

Photo from Style Magazine

Located in various places but my favorite is at the 2nd floor, Central Park Veranda of the Eastwood Mall, Libis, QC

I have lots of Red Mango stories because yes, there came a time in my life when I ate Red Mango froyo almost everyday. The Eastwood Mall branch has been like a home to me where various memories have been created. I co-existed with Nico Salva and his family there. I had lots of moments with my CompSAt loves. I witnessed a Kuya Rodz walking with plastics of DVDs. I got John to like froyo through eating there as well. The location is brilliant for me as it is “private” and intimate yet very chill and relaxed at the same time. It would probably be better if they got a bigger place but the general aura is classy and decent. The people there are VERY nice and friendly (and patient with our indecisiveness, as usual). :D

Probably everybody loves Red Mango. Their froyo is more of the sweet side rather than the tangy side but it’s just enough to make you come back for more. I don’t know what it is with their froyo but once you taste it, you really won’t be able to stop! What I like from Red Mango, however, is their green tea froyo, which Rodz and I were hesitant to taste at first. It’s THE BEST THING EVER as it has just the right amount of green tea taste, very reminiscent of the green tea ice cream served at Red Kimono. The toppings are very delicious as well! Most are common but what keeps us coming back for more is their delicious almond mochi, which makes me forget my name. The prices are very understandable and just right. A normal serving would cost one about Php150.  However, if you’re stingy like me, I’d recommend that you do what I did with Daniel and with John–share! For Php260, you can get a family-sized serving of green tea froyo with three toppings! Now, that’s an awesome deal!

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Froyo Taste: 4 out of 5 stars

Toppings: 4 out of 5 stars

Price: 5 out of 5 stars

4) Yohgurt-Froz

 

Photo from Yoh-gurt Froz Site

Located in various places but the one I’ve been to is inside Dash at the Eastwood Open Park Promenade, Libis, QC

This is currently Rodrick’s favorite kind of froyo so I really just had to take a taste due to his bragging about how awesome their froyo is. During a “shopping” day with Crab, we were torn between having Red Mango (as usual) or trying out Yoh-gurt Froz for the first time. We obviously chose the latter. The Eastwood branch of Yoh-gurt Froz might be pretty difficult for you to spot if you do not frequent Eastwood but it’s easy to ask around or just look for Make Room across the new mall. It’s located inside Dash, a high-end toy and hobby store, and this made me fall in love with the place even more! You can play random games while eating froyo or just chill, like what we did, ’cause it’s a pretty quaint and quiet place with awesome lighting (for you camwhores out there).  We didn’t get to have much interaction with the people there but they were generally welcoming and accommodating. (During my second visit, even the Dash personnel were friendly!)

Yoh-gurt Froz froyo tastes like heaven on earth. It’s like a cross between Red Mango and White Hat and that’s an awesome thing! They only have the original flavor though despite the fact that I would really love to try out whatever other flavors they might have (except for strawberry, of course). Their. toppings. are. fantastic. They have loooots (40++, I think) of toppings available such as coffee jelly, pandan mochi (lol to John who tried this; ube mochi is more awesome!), cheese, cereals, sweets, fruits, nuts, and my favorites–brownie and butterscotch bits! The best thing about Yoh-gurt Froz, however, is the fact that you TRULY get your money’s worth. They have large servings to the point that one regular serving would be enough to satisfy one’s craving. Their froyo costs Php80 for the regular serving and Php110 for the large serving. A fixed number of “top-ins”, which is three, costs an additional Php40. If you’d rather have one kind of topping, you’d still have to pay Php40 but they’d give you three serving sizes worth of the topping you picked. As much as I wouldn’t like to admit it, this would be my preferred froyo due to the very sulit feeling it brings. Delicioso indeed! Do not go to Eastwood or any mall with a Yoh-gurt Froz branch without devouring a good Php120 deal!

Location: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Service: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Froyo Taste: 5 out of 5 stars

Toppings: 5 out of 5 stars

Price: 5 out of 5 stars

5) The White Hat

Photo from White Hat Site

Located in various places but I’m nearest to the 2nd floor, SM Markina branch and the one I frequent is the 2/F Entertainment Mall, SM Mall of Asia branch.

Say hello to my first froyo ever. Haha! :) I have also had various moments with The White Hat but what I would never forget is my first taste of froyo at the SM Mall of Asia branch which had me begging on my knees for more. The store is located in an often-frequented part of the mall as it is near the music hall area. Sadly, though, there are only a few tables outside for dining. This, I have observed, is a characteristic of most White Hat shops as the same holds true for the SM Marikina branch and the Robinson’s Ermita branch. The colors of the store are very soothing, however, as they have this cool and clean blue and white mix which is very eye-catching especially if you are craving for something cold to get you by. The people in the stalls are usually kind and try their best to entertain the customers well. I specifically like the crew of the SM Mall of Asia branch as they were very warm and informed as they knew the answers to some questions I had.

Despite my love for Yoh-gurt Froz, The White Hat still serves the best tasting frozen yogurt for me, based on my personal preference for the more yogurt-y taste. They have Fragola and Green Tea froyo, other than the original, but I haven’t tasted them yet so I have yet to decide if they are as delicious as the Original froyo. The toppings are also fantastic as there is a wide array of choices that one can pick from which includes cereals, nuts, fruits, and sweets. My favorites, however, are their homemade cheesecake and homemade granola, which seriously are the best toppings ever. The White Hat also has combos, which cost a few bucks less, which are recommended for those who like good mixes or for the indecisive ones. I always order the Baker’s Hat, which is composed of blueberries, cheesecake, and Almond Clusters–three among the best food ever. My only problem with The White Hat, however, is that there are small servings. It costs a whopping Php85 for a small cup and a whopping Php115 for a large cup. When they say small, however, they really do mean small, and sadly, when they say large, they don’t really mean large.

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Froyo Taste: 5 out of 5 stars

Toppings: 5 out of 5 stars

Price: 4 out of 5 stars

**********

How about you? What are your favorite froyo places? Feel free to suggest more for me to taste! Lulu belle and Tutti Frutti are next on my list but I think I’d have to save up first. :D

6 thoughts on “The Froyo Comparison

  1. Jilli Gomez says:

    Hi!

    My name is Jilli Gomez and I am one of the owners of FroYoForYo. I read your blog and appreciate your honest comments very much. :) I am deeply sorry that we were not able to provide you with the frozen yoghurt you expected and for not being able to satisfy you with our product.

    We have greatly improved the flavor and taste of our frozen yoghurt after considering all the customer feedback we received. I understand that you visited our store the day after its opening and I want to thank you so much for going all the way there just to try our froyo. Like you, we wish our product had been perfect by then but we were quite pressured to open earlier although our product could still use improvement because this is a business implementation thesis for school. But I assure you that we have since then improved our product and would like to invite you once again to try it. :)

    Please feel free to drop by anytime this February with a friend and enjoy two scoops of any flavor of your choice with any three toppings in our special wafer cup each. :) FroYoForYo’s complements. :) (I would, however, need your name so our employee could identify you.)

    Please just send me your name and number through email. My address is jilli.gomez@yahoo.com

    Thank you and hope to hear from you soon! :)

    Humbly,
    Jilli Gomez

Leave a Comment!

