Silly Girl, Lonely One


Magic.

For me, it’s that “feeling that you get when other human beings pick up basic instruments and make sense of your world”. (Peyton Sawyer, 2008)

I get goosebumps when I stumble upon a new song that just plainly gets me. I get goosebumps AND butterflies with horseshoes in my stomach when I stumble upon a song, which has always been in my music library and had no emotional effect to me whatsoever, that suddenly makes complete and utter sense.

This song just does it. I do wonder sometimes if there’s anyone who looks like Chris Carrabba who would sing this to me and actually mean it.

And for once, I will shut my mouth and stop myself from trying to explain the song. You’ll get it.

Carve Your Heart Out Yourself – Dashboard Confessional

Carve your heart out yourself
Hopelessness is your cell
Since you’ve drawn out these lines
Are you protected from trying times

Man, it takes a silly girl to lie about the dreams she has
Lord, it takes a lonely one to wish that she had never dreamt at all

Oh look now
There you go with hope again
Oh you’re so sure
I’ll be leaving in the end

Dig your ditch deep enough
To keep you clear of the sun
You’ve been burned more than once
You don’t think much of trust

Man, it takes a silly girl to lie about the dreams she has
Lord, it takes a lonely one to wish she had never dreamt at all

Oh look now, there you go with hope again
But I’ll be sure your secrects safe with me
Oh you’re so sure
I’ll be leaving in the end
Treating me like I’m already gone

But I’m not
I will stay
Where you are
Always

I will stay, I will stay, I will stay
I will stay
I will stay
I will stay
I will stay
I will stay
I will stay

One thought on “Silly Girl, Lonely One

  1. rinaisnotyours says:

    I’m not that familiar with Dashboard so correct me if I’m wrong :)) But this song isn’t like their normal sound, huh?

Leave a Comment!

