The Ugly Truth


As much as I want to say that I always tell the truth, I honestly do not. According to Wikipedia, truth is being in accord with reality. I do admit that there are instances when I don’t tell the truth. Let me share some of them:

  1. I don’t tell the truth about my entire life when I ride the taxi. Taxi drivers usually ask me about how my “husband and children” are. I know, right? Instead of getting annoyed with how they think I’m past 24 and have gotten pregnant already, I make up a false self with a false story. I remember telling one driver that I was planning to buy a car with my husband–and we then discussed about cars instead of my life (which is good). I remember telling one very broody driver that I was just fetching someone here at home ’cause I didn’t want him to know that I stayed there.
  2. I don’t tell the truth about my current state of hunger. It’s just so awkward for me when I’m starving to death and people try to feed me out of politeness. I usually say “I’m not hungry” but my intestines know what I would give for the Pinoy slice (the last piece that no one gets) of pizza. My stomach would kill me during such times but I would like to think that I have some dignity and shame left.
  3. I don’t tell the truth about my opinions on other people’s favorite songs, movies, and TV shows. Well, I do sometimes (when I sense some level of comfort between us already) but most of the time, I do not. I just shut my mouth and allow the person to have his/her moment of fandom just like how I would like to have my own moment when I gush about V (yes, I’m still not over it) or my The Script song of the day.
  4. I don’t tell the truth about my savings. Seriously, who does? If you do have a huge amount saved (like my good friend John–woops, I couldn’t lie! HAHA!), you might as well give me your ATM password or prepare to treat me out to lunch everyday. If you still haven’t saved anything and you tell people that, then you must be really secure that you can still earn a lot or you must just come from a rich-ass family.
  5. I don’t tell the truth about surprises. Why? Because those who can’t keep a secret even just until everyone gets to yell “surprise” suck. There’s no point in including them in surprise parties. They just ruin it for everyone.

Now, let me just clarify that I only withhold the truth when it would ’cause more harm not to do so (e.g. someone could get killed/someone could rob me/someone who prepared for 1 month for a surprise party could get annoyed). Modern Family sums the whole idea up in a short spiel: “We do strange things for the people we love. We lie to them, we lie for them. There may be some bumps along the way, but we never stop wanting the best for them.”

I don’t really equate honesty to telling the truth in an encompassing way. Honesty involves telling the truth when it would be moral/immoral to do so/to not do so. I remember learning in our Ethics class that we should learn how to know if something indeed involves a moral dilemma. If I ask you if you like someone else and you tell me that you don’t when in fact you do, then you suck too. If I ask you if you got your parents’ permission for a trip and you tell me that you did when in fact you didn’t, then you suck as well.

To prove to you that I don’t suck, I shall share 5 truths about myself that might be surprising to some:

  1. I suck in volleyball. And I won’t even pretend to be interested in the game (except if it’s Ateneo playing).
  2. I can’t speak French (except for 3 sentences). Talk to me in Francais and I will reply with my favorite line: Je ne comprends pas.
  3. I graduated valedictorian in elementary and high school, and cum laude in college. No, I’m not sharing it to brag. I’m sharing it ’cause I’ve been told that I don’t look intelligent.
  4. I do get hurt at times when people make random hirits. I just show that I don’t care about what people say but in reality, I do.
  5. I enjoy being with guys more than being with girls–except for maybe a few. I have only a handful of girl friends who I’d pick over guy friends anytime (you know who you are). Other than that, I find no reason to prefer girls over guys. Girls usually tell you nice things when in front of you but go nasty and evil when you turn your back. Guys usually tell you nasty and evil things to your face. I’d take that anytime over being backstabbed.
Leave a Comment!

