Weekends for People Like Me


I used to feel that every weekend should be a day of being out and about. Going through Monday to Friday was like taking a slow trudge on a dangerous and muddy mountain, and weekends exist to celebrate survival! I did not get fired. I did not get robbed. That’s good news, right? And it’s kinda sad to not be able to post a status like “Dinner with @Friend1 @Friend2 @Friend3 and @Friend4 at Eastwood! Had SO MUCH FUN!”, not to get tagged in new photos of you in non-work clothes, and not to look like you have a fantastic life outside being a corporate person. Weekends are for extreme fun!

I am glad to report that I do not feel that way anymore. Why?

  1. Weekdays should not be as dreaded as most people describe it. If you’re working right now and it feels like it’s just a job, if you dread waking up on Mondays ’cause boo-hoo it’s time to go to the office again, and if you look forward to weekends to an abnormal degree, maybe it’s time to quit. This is so dorky but I do like weekdays and I do like what I’m doing enough to energize me to go to the province of Mckinley Hill everyday (except when I’m working from home). And if the people in your office can actually make a weekday feel like a weekend, I don’t think you’ll dread it as much.
  2. Going out with @Friend1 @Friend2 @Friend3 and @Friend4 is pointless if you just use them as an excuse to avoid chores on weekends. It’s also pointless to go out with them if you don’t actually talk about meaningful things in life—that is if you even talk at all.
  3. The number of photos you are tagged in on Facebook do not measure how many friends you have or how great your life is.
  4. Work-life balance is not about separating work days from life days. You’re supposed to practice work-life balance everyday by adding a pinch of fun to your daily routine. I am actually amused with people who make life inside and outside the corporate world fun.

I have realized that weekends are for (a) rest, (b) ministry, and (c) corporate worship.

When I used to go out every weekend, time seemed to pass by so fast. I like my job but people need to take a break once in a while and being out and about every weekend is physically and financially tiring. I enjoy taking a good rest during Saturdays, waking up LATE (a.k.a. in the afternoon), and just cozying up with a pillow in bed. I also think my wallet deserves a break. An Eastwood movie + dinner + transpo = Php600. That’s not fun to shell out every weekend.

Just earlier today, I came from a practice with our church dance group. I missed feeling happy-tired during Saturdays thanks to church activities. It’s also a good time to catch up with church friends who are ALWAYS a pleasure to be with. Off-topic: MY BODY IS TIRED. I have not danced in a long time—maybe 4 years—until today. We learned steps for just one stanza and I already felt like fainting. These are the moments when I realize that I should have not stopped doing things I used to do pre-college.

I used to wake up late every Sunday and miss the singing time during our church service. I have realized that I should NOT do that ’cause corporate worship is a once-a-week affair. Missing out on a blessed and inspiring worship service is sad. Also, I should keep the Sabbath day holy. God deserves my best especially for worship time.

I’m not saying that I won’t go out during weekends anymore. I still like going out. I’m just saying that I have gotten over the phase when I plan out my weekends for the next 2 months to make sure that I ALWAYS have something to do outside. Quality > quantity.

Boy, I must really be growing old.

***
Favorite song of the day:
I Won’t Give Up – Jason Mraz
(WARNING: Prepare some tissue.)

***

Random photos of me:

Isn't my bag such a cutie?

Should I get a perm na ulit?

Leave a Comment!

