On What We Should Do With Clichés


Cliché – (via Wiki) an expression, idea, or element of an artistic work which has been overused to the point of losing its original meaning or effect, rendering it a stereotype, especially when at some earlier time it was considered meaningful or novel

Redeeming the Cliché

Whenever September 1 comes, Facebook/Twitter/other social networking sites get flooded with people rhetorically asking ~someone~ to wake them up when September ends. It’s been overused to the point of actually losing its meaning. The longing for a month to end has been simplified into a pa-intelligent Facebook status. Some people post the phrase only to look cool and to tell the world that they listen to Green Day—not knowing that it’s SO cool to have never heard of the band.

I call for the redemption of the cliché because there are people who actually need to get September done with. I, for one, have been going ballistic with tasks at hand. I have never realized what being in a “high-pressure” environment meant until September came. Besides, I have a lot of things to look forward to come October:

  1. Barangay Cluster begins
  2. Munigger’s birthday
  3. A year since I made my good friend a fantastic group birthday card
  4. Youth Quake!
  5. Boracay <3 <3
  6. Jason Mraz

So, I hope you don’t judge my cheesy use of what probably is the most famous phrase in song history but…please, wake me up when September ends.

Butchering the Cliché

How many times have you heard the line “Meklot is like a boy”? If your count exceeds the number of your fingers, then please continue reading.

I left the house today at 8 am and realized upon riding the cab that I have already turned into a girl.

Did you ever think that you’d see pink nail polish (which I put on myself, by the way), a morning Starbucks drink (aka a “girly” breakfast), and a FLOWERY bag in one picture AND one Meklot? I surprise myself sometimes. I was just sitting in the cab, listening to Mraz songs, and upon looking down I saw this sight:

Pink + Flowers

I chuckled a little (see, I didn’t laugh boisterously). I never imagined that it would come to this point. I used to do my nails but I painted them in black (in honor of Kradam). I can’t believe I even bought a flowery satchel-y bag. Yeah, I’m starting to like girly things. Isn’t that grand?

Now, to all who once found novel the overused expression/idea that “Meklot is like a boy”—which actually has little effect on me now—BWAHAHA :P

Meki approves of being girly :p

***

Passed by Ateneo today to bring my sister to school. Memories.

**

OOTD #2 a.k.a. Lazy Monday Outfit:

OOTD # 2

Red and white striped polo from Elements, Gray skinny slacks from Wranco Jeans, Oxfords and Bag from Cerafin Online

3 thoughts on “On What We Should Do With Clichés

Leave a Comment!

