Ours


I remember learning about this Fr. Arrupe prayer when I was in Ateneo:

Nothing is more practical than finding God, that is, than falling in love in a quite absolute, final way. What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything. It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning, what you will do with your evenings, how you will spend your weekends, what you read, who you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude. Fall in love, stay in love and it will decide everything.

I can say that I am in deep utter love with the Lord right now. In the past, I never understood how people can “fall in love” and be kilig with Him. But based on that prayer above, I have somewhat realized how it can be. My love for Him has truly affected everything.

What gets me out of bed in the morning is knowing that God has a plan and a purpose for another day in my life, and realizing that another day means another opportunity to fall in love with Him even more.

What I do with my evenings has definitely changed. It used to be for phone calls and worldly things but it has now become a time for reading books and having my quiet time.

I used to spend my weekends trying to keep myself busy by going out for a non-date or with a group of friends, and I’d be frustrated when I didn’t have a lakad. Now, I use my weekends for small group, catching up with friends for meaningful conversations, doing random design/website stuff for the church, and just enjoying being with the family.

I don’t read secular stuff that often anymore. I actually haven’t read a single page of my hardbound copy of Freakonomics which was shipped all the way from LA. I enjoy reading more spiritual books now (since I enjoy sharing what I learn to others), and I amusingly get excited to read the Bible and see what God wants to reveal to me.

I used to want to be with the cool crowd. Right now though, I enjoy getting to know new friends who enjoy talking about God and who love Him as much as I do :)

It is my prayer for God to break my heart for what breaks His. And by His grace, that’s slowly and surely being granted.

What amazes me so much these days is how great God is! I see it in almost everything that happens to me. He really is a great and loving God—and that’s what makes me joyful and grateful.

I’m not saying that I’m perfect, nor am I holy. I am a WORK IN PROGRESS. I still fail at times but I cannot help but be grateful for God’s continuing grace and mercy. And of course, I will always thank Him for saving a wretch like me. From being in love with the world & myself, I have fallen head over heels in love with my God.

Speaking of which, I get kilig when I listen to Taylor Swift’s “Ours”. This may be a “new” perspective but I imagine this to be a love song between me and the Lord :)

Elevator buttons and morning air
Strangers’ silence makes me want to take the stairs
If you were here we’d laugh about their vacant stares
But right now my time is theirs

The world can be confusing and sad. Life can be boring and bland. But, when we spend each moment as if we are spending it with God, there can be joy and laughter.

Seems like there’s always someone who disapproves
They’ll judge it like they know about me and you
And the verdict comes from those with nothing else to do
The jury’s out, my choice is you

The world oftentimes criticizes people who are deep in their relationship with God. They say that it’s absurd to believe in God, but we know who we are putting our faith in. We know who God is in our lives, and we should make a choice to stick with Him no matter what.

So don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
The stakes are high, the water’s rough
But this love is ours

God reassures us that His love is enough. People may look down on or make fun of us but that’s should only make us grow deeper in love with Him. As the song says: “Say what they want, say what they want, we are free!”

You never know what people have up their sleeves
Ghosts from your past gonna jump out at me
Lurking in the shadows with their lip gloss smiles
But I don’t care ’cause right now you’re mine

We are always tempted by the world to go back to how we used to live, but God is glad because He knows that He need not worry that we will go astray. He declares His claim on us—that we are His!

And it’s not theirs to speculate
If it’s wrong and
Your hands are tough
But they are where mine belong and
I’ll fight their doubt and give you faith
With this song for you

What others say don’t matter. They may find God as unfair or unloving but I won’t ever doubt Him and trust in how I myself have experience His helping hand.

‘Cause I love the gap between your teeth
And I love the riddles that you speak
And any snide remarks from my father about your tattoos will be ignored
‘Cause my heart is yours

We are imperfect—we think about things that we should not think of, we say things that we should not say, and we do things that should not do, yet God chooses to overlook those and focus on His love for us. How much does He love us? He died for us.

So don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
Don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
But they can’t take what’s ours
They can’t take what’s ours

The stakes are high, the water’s rough
But this love is ours

They can’t take what’s ours, Lord. Forever I will be with You.

Leave a Comment!

