Waiting


Today is pretty different from the past few days. Throughout the day, I was questioning God about His timing and His promise. The last time I felt that was during the Christmas season when I shared with a prayer group that I needed patience ’cause I was already getting hurt with how He is holding back the blessing. It went smooth-sailing after that…until now.

So, I was looking for some verses I can hold on to—my new refuge whenever I’m feeling down, instead of ranting to Migoy or Dugs. I stumbled upon this amazing verse in Psalm 27:14:

Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.

Mama always says during her sermon that when something is repeated in the Bible, you must give importance to the emphasis. And how I love the emphasis put on “WAITING FOR THE LORD” here.

Waiting for the Lord, I have learned, involves two things:

(1) Waiting for Him to work

Waiting for the Lord means waiting for God to do His thing in His perfect time and His perfect way. It involves trusting that God knows what’s best for us (’cause He really does!), and not putting matters into our own hands.

(2) Seeking Him first

I read a blog post saying that in the Old Testament, to ‘wait’ means to ‘long for’. So, to wait for the Lord means to LONG FOR HIM! In other words, “seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.” God will give His promise but He wants us to seek for the Giver before the gift. As another famous verse says: “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

So yeah, I felt a lot and learned a lot today. I love how God speaks to me as I type this blog post :) My only prayer is for God to continue giving me patience, and even now, I pray that He prepare me for that marvelous gift He is about to give me when He sees that I am ready.

Wait. Wait. Wait.

***

Off-topic: To people who think that sitcoms are degrading, uhm, I don’t think so. The following TV shows (arranged according to my preference) should prove your point otherwise:

1) Up All Night – this show makes me smile LITERALLY—I mean, I literally find myself with a huge grin on my face

2) How I Met Your Mother – so brilliant all the flashbacks; so much loooove for this show!

3) Modern Family – most heartwarmingly adorable piece of television at present!

4) New Girl – this is what I call a post-modern TV show; and this is me trying to be cool

5) 2 Broke Girls – oddly interesting and oddly captivating my attention

Leave a Comment!

