I Know About You


Today’s wonderful re-discovery (’cause I’ve known this song since it was released): Dashboard Confessional’s I Know About You

Why do I like this? One reason: The lyrics are killer. This is one of my Alter The Ending favorites—’cause yeah, it’s not the best Dashboard album out there but has decent songs like this one, Even Now, Get Me Right, Belle of the Boulevard, and Until Morning.

Well I know the trouble when the trouble starts.
I know the signals of a straying heart. 
I know the stirrings of a double-cross. 
I see suspicions arise around you.

I know the chatter as it starts to creep.
I know the walls as they ring and repeat.
I know the secrets they were meant to keep.
I see suspicions arise.

It’s a shame, I know, but it all shakes out real slow
When the follies of your weekend hang like smoke onto your clothes. 
And the shame of it grows when you whisper it nice and low.
But all the walls have ears my darling, and all bad things get known.
And I know about you. I know about you.

I know the ceiling when it starts to burn.
I know the season when it starts to turn.
And I know that the patterns that the wicked learn. 
And I see suspicions arise around you.

I know the curtain and the way it falls.
I know the burden and the pain it draws.
I know you’re sorry for something, 
But I don’t know why.

It’s a shame, I know, but it all shakes out real slow
When the follies of your weekend hang like smoke onto your clothes.
And the shame of it grows when you whisper it nice and low (whisper it nice and low).
But all the walls have ears my darling, and all bad things get known.
And I know about you. I know about you.

 ***

To counter that song’s sadness and depression, my song for the day is Trading My Sorrows! Thanks for reminding me about it Kuya Mark! This song is definitely an encouragement-giver, especially the part which says “I’m pressed but not crushed, persecuted not abandoned, struck down but not destroyed!”

Leave a Comment!

