Healing


Another wonderful revelation from God came to me during this morning’s personal devotion. I was reading John 5 and this part of the chapter caught my attention:

When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he already had been in that condition a long time, He said to him, “Do you want to be made well?”

The sick man answered Him, “Sir, I have no man to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up; but while I am coming, another steps down before me.”

Jesus said to him, “Rise, take up your bed and walk.” And immediately the man was made well, took up his bed, and walked.

Here in the story, we see how someone who needed healing was relying on other people to make his healing possible. When asked if he WANTS to be healed, he reasons out that there is no person there with him that can help him get what he needs.

Jesus steps in, however, and only with His words, He is able to provide healing.

Just like in my life, in the past, I’ve always been dependent on other people to make things right. A statement I used to say before is:

You make or break my day.

Even when it comes to emotional healing, I depended on other people. And you know what? They could never suffice. The temporary “healing” I get from them would always eventually wane. What’s even worse is that sometimes, there would be NO ONE there to provide the “healing” that I need. I’d find myself wallowing in the sad state I am in, being emo on Tumblr, and listening to One Tree Hill music a la Peyton Sawyer.

But God is really great. Through John 5 He is telling me that complete healing only comes from HIM. There’s no need to depend on other people or even myself. I just need to come to Him, believe, and OBEY what He commands, and I WILL BE HEALED.

Such a wonderful promise, that is! Help me Lord to listen to Your words and obey when You ask me to rise, take my bed, and walk. I trust that the healing I need now will come only from You.

Leave a Comment!

