Are you me?


Today’s devotion was pretty interesting. I remember that during a conversation with Pastor Keith when I was expressing my fears, he mentioned that I was like Gideon. And yeah, you guessed it right. My read today was about Gideon. I totally saw myself in Gideon—which isn’t necessarily good.

And the Angel of the Lord appeared to him, and said to him, “The Lord is with you, you mighty man of valor!”

Gideon said to Him, “O my lord, if the Lord is with us, why then has all this happened to us? And where are all His miracles which our fathers told us about, saying, ‘Did not theLord bring us up from Egypt?’ But now the Lord has forsaken us and delivered us into the hands of the Midianites.”

Then the Lord turned to him and said, “Go in this might of yours, and you shall save Israel from the hand of the Midianites. Have I not sent you?

So he said to Him, “O my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.

And the Lord said to him, “Surely I will be with you, and you shall defeat the Midianites as one man.”

Then he said to Him, “If now I have found favor in Your sight, then show me a sign that it is You who talk with me. Do not depart from here, I pray, until I come to You and bring out my offering and set it before You.”

And He said, “I will wait until you come back.”

Definitely me. Seeing myself as weak and unworthy. Testing the Lord. Haaaay. I like how Gideon was “called” but I don’t like how he responded. I have yet to see the ending of his story (will have it tomorrow for devotion) but so far, I don’t want to have this attitude of disbelief, especially when it comes to God’s calling.

A few people I trust know about my struggles in terms of my ministry nowadays, and I thank God for dealing with me everyday through His Word. May God help me respond to His call (if He really is calling me—so uncertain) not like how Gideon did.

Pictures from The Brick Testament

Leave a Comment!

