Confusion at 1:14 am in the Office


Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, I just came back to this company three months ago. Note to self: I quit my job in this same company one year ago, had a very short nine-month stint in a non-profit, and returned. I’d look like a self-entitled brat.

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, I earn a decent amount that is able to sustain my not-so-lavish but not-so-thrifty lifestyle (midnight food cravings are the bomb), send my sister to the best university in the country, and allow me to support and sustain my other endeavors (e.g. church ministry, event planning, etc).

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, what would people say? What would my high school teachers and college professors say when they found out that Ms. Academically-Inclined has turned into an event planner who attends seminary? What would my current manager say after taking me back without hesitation?

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, I love the people here. I’ve found some of the coolest friends I’ve ever had in this company and this industry.

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, maybe I’m just scared of failure. Maybe it’s a pride thing. Maybe I’m just scared to not be as good as other people think I am on something.

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, it’s really supposed to be tough during the first few times. Hang in there.

Heart: I want to leave.

Head: But, I always win.

3 thoughts on “Confusion at 1:14 am in the Office

Leave a Comment!

