Bittersweet Blueberry Cheesecake


I vividly remember that time of my life and I am not meaning to brag; this is just for the sake of storytelling. I was walking to the bookstore one day in January 2006, and someone greeted me with congratulations. I did not know why so I naturally asked what it was about. I was informed that I apparently passed the entrance test to Ateneo De Manila, the best college in our country (my biased opinon bwahaha), and was one of the top 10 public high school applicants out of thousands. I informed my family as if it was ordinary news, and indeed it was taken normally and without fuzz.

It was college entrance exam results season and our whole batch was abuzz with who passed where–with people celebrating with their families through one way or another. My academic achievements were never a major thing for my family. I graduated at the top of my class in pre-school, grade school and high school yet there were no special events in my honor. Partly, I am grateful to my family for grounding me. I spent 15 years of my life just doing the best that I can and never expecting some form of reward for a school milestone.

Yet, something changed during that fateful 2006 season. Probably just like Eve biting into the fruit and realizing good vs. evil, I realized that what I achieved was a MAJOR feat and that it deserved to be rewarded. I threw tantrums (at age 15, yes hahaha) and showed my family how depressed I am for them not even appreciating my effort and skill. I demanded for blueberry cheesecake.

I arrived home from school one afternoon and found a box of blueberry cheesecake on the table, and people watching TV.

It was the worst tasting blueberry cheesecake of my life.

****

Epilogue: I am glad to report that I got over the whole thing and my relationship with my family has improved GREATLY since that day.

5 thoughts on “Bittersweet Blueberry Cheesecake

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Very good post! I can just imagine how bitter that cheesecake tasted, out of curiousity, have you ever eaten blueberry cheesecake again ? So glad you added the note at the end at how things have greatly improved with your family! Families are so important!

  2. quetzalcotl says:

    Hey fellow Atenean! :) Achievements especially in school are always a big deal as you need a lot of discipline and patience to get these. It sucks that your family did not recognize your efforts the way others do, but I’m glad your relationship with them has improved.

Leave a Comment!

