So Long, Sweet Summer


We end this month by saying hello to much gloom and rain, and bidding farewell to the sunny weather of the prior months. Alas, summer is indeed over.

When I was younger, I’ve always been a fan of summer because it always meant that there were opportunities to have more fun vs. non-summer days.

  • When I was a kid, it meant playing outside under the scorching sun (prickly heat aside), tambourine and piano lessons, and attending Daily Vacation Bible School (DVBS).
  • When I became a tween, it meant mission trips to various provinces, and volunteering for DVBS (which I always liked since it also meant hanging out/dancing/singing with friends).
  • When I was in high school, it meant going to the mall with family & relatives and being more of a nerd by attending the Ateneo Junior Summer Seminar.
  • When I was in college, it meant going to school for 2-3 required classes (which isn’t as terrible as it sounds when you realize that traffic is light and you get to be with friends), going to gigs of my favorite bands, and having my internship in the CBD.
  • When I graduated, it meant FINALLY being able to join the clan vacation in Hong Kong.

Since I started working though, summer suddenly became just like any other time of the year. I do not look forward to it at all, especially since majority of my friends are already working anyway and even my siblings don’t get their summers off anymore.

On the flip side, I think I’m starting to enjoy rainy days instead. Seeing or even just hearing raindrops makes it so tempting to stay at home, and 10 times cozier to hide under the blanket and watch everything on Netflix.

Well, I’d wish for it to rain all the time, but I have to go to work and I hate bringing an umbrella.

(via Daily Prompt: Sunny)

Leave a Comment!

