Food Review, Other

Where to Eat with the Boys: Katipunan


It shouldn’t surprise you if you hear someone call me a boy. Since I was a kid, I’ve been surrounded with more guy friends than girl friends making me think if I have absorbed some of their Y chromosome. Being the social person that I am, I always see to it that I go out with my friends regularly and because they are mostly of the opposite gender, I don’t get to line up for Forever 21, make-up shop, go to the parlor, boy-watch, or watch the latest romantic comedy. Being with the boys gives importance to one thing: FOOD.

I don’t know if this applies to a majority of guy friends but mine do give a major fuss over eating good food of great quantity for an affordable price. Case in point: though we practically live in Eastwood, we don’t dine at the Eastwood Mall nor at the majority of the random restaurants splattered around City Walk. We only spend more than 500 bucks when it’s for buffet, and we usually don’t order drinks and rely on good ol’ water.

Because of my experience, I would like to suggest a few places you can try when you’re eating out with hungry boys.

PART ONE: The Katipunan Edition

1) Chowking

During the last months of our senior year, each dinner time is Chowking time and I fully understand why. It’s not unlikely to get bored with KFC, McDo and Jollibee especially if you chance upon one of the three every five minutes on the road and especially if you studied in Katipunan before 2010. The guys will surely enjoy the speedy service and the very casual vibe when dining in this Chinese fastfood chain.

What the guys love: Value Kings. These meals for 49 pesos include a free drink and are actually of very decent quantity. The guys usually order 2 value meals per person while I not-so-quietly enjoy my Crispy Noodles meal + some extra buchi.

Chowking Value Kings (from the Internet)
Our Value Kings (photo c/o Nelvin)
Our Value Kings (photo c/o Nelvin)

2) Shakey’s

Tired of fastfood? Shakey’s is the next best place to be. If you’re a group of 7-8 people, then you are in luck. We prefer Shakey’s over Pizza Hut when we’d rather share food ’cause there are more group meals in the previous. Other than that, the atmosphere (@ Shakey’s Katipunan, at least) is more relaxed and less stiff–very apt for young and growing boys. Haha! We also commend the addition of the Fun Zone where we can burn the calories we ingested through Dance Dance Revolution, hyperreality basketball.

What the guys love: Monster Meal Deal only if you’re all of the same appetite. Chicken and chips. Spaghetti. Carbonara. 2 pizzas or 1 grand slam. For only 1,649 bucks*, THIS IS HEAVEEEEN. Make sure to claim your share though as the guys can take advantage of your diet and eat that pizza slice that should have been yours.

Shakey's Monster Meal Deal (photo c/o Nelvin)
Shakey's Monster Meal Deal (photo c/o Nelvin)
Happy and Full (photo c/o Nelvin)
Happy and Full (photo c/o Nelvin)

3) Slice N Dice

I still haven’t found a guy (except vegetarians) who DOES NOT like meat. Slice N Dice is one brilliant place ’cause of the very homey feel and the affordable prices. I guess another thing that’s good about Slice N Dice is that there is variety in the food that they serve. :) They have a pretty small place though, so we are often jam-packed when we go there in groups. Also, prepare for a pretty loud meal ’cause the other customers who are also probably chatting about their day and their friends are literally just a few feet away from you.

What the guys love: Steak Rice. 50 pesos. Rice with bits of meat. Lotsa sauce. My friends order two meals just because it’s that affordable! :) If not feeling that stingy, we usually order a plate of kangkong and a plate of baked tahong for sharing.

4) Flaming Wings

If feeling a little more generous or if the dine out is something planned rather than random, we usually head out to Flaming Wings. The place may be a little cramped as well but the good lighting and the huge-ass mirror makes it a good place for group dine outs and group camwhoring. Another reason why we go there is ’cause we can stay through the main meal and even ’til dessert, unlike in other places where we’d have to go somewhere else just to get a sweet fix.

What the guys love: Tenders Meal. 120+ pesos. (I’m not sure about the price anymore. I’m old.) ‘Cause guys are generally “thrifty” (just to make it sound better), they prefer getting a complete meal to give value to their money. Thus, chicken with sauce + dip + rice + huge drink = a good job! :) Add to that the fact that their tenders are truly tender. I think guys and girls alike wouldn’t be able to resist that.

5) McDonald’s

Well, this is a given. You can take ANYONE to this place and I’m sure they’ll be able to order something.

What the guys love: Chicken Fillet w/ Rice Meal. 50 pesos. Again, this meal has followed the formula. It’s affordable and it comes with a drink. Some of my friends can order two of this as well…but I guess you now realize that we they are just such gluttons.

6) Jollibee

Well, this is a given. You can take ANYONE to this place and I’m sure they’ll be able to order something.

What the guys love: 39ers. 39 pesos. Again, this meal has followed the formula. It’s affordable and adding 10 bucks will give you a drink. Some of my friends can order two of this as well…but I guess you now realize that we they are just such gluttons. (Yes. This is what I wrote for McDo as well.)

**

So, there you have it! If you want to pig out and have quality time with the boys, then just mention these places at around 6 pm. You’ll surely get your food fix…that is, if you can wait until they finish playing StarCraft or DOTA.

If you have more suggestions, just leave a comment. I believe Katipunan has grown into much more of a food haven over the past few months. (Forgive this oldie.)

Leave a Comment!